Skip to Content

West Chapter

West Chapter

The West Chapter of the Colorado PGA encompasses those members and associates that work west of the Continental Divide in the state of Colorado. The West Chapter is made up of approximately 100 Members and Associates with over 50 facilities being located in the Chapter.

The West Chapter is governed by Officers elected by the Chapter Membership. The Core Purpose of the Chapter is to deliver the member programs and services of the Colorado PGA on the Western Slope. The West Chapter provides continuing education, pro-only and pro-am tournaments.

The West Chapter Annual Awards ten award winners and three Players of the Year. The nomination process for the Awards opens at the West Chapter Fall Membership Meeting and Championship and closes in mid-December. Nominees are given the opportunity to submit their packet before the West Chapter Board selected the winners of each category. The winners are recognized at the Colorado PGA Spring Business Meeting and receive their award at the West Chapter Spring Business Meeting.

2019 Award Winners

Award Name Facility
Golf Professional of the Year Stephen VanDyke, PGA Aspen Glen Club
Teacher of the Year Eloy Vendegna, PGA Chipeta Golf Course
Assistant Golf Professional of the Year Trey Johnson, PGA Vail Golf Club
Bill Strausbaugh Award Eric Feely, PGA The Bridges Country Club
Horton Smith Award Ed Marzec, PGA Member
Private Merchandiser of the Year Greg Bryan, PGA Roaring Fork Club
Public Merchandiser of the Year Nathan Corsbie, PGA Eagle Ranch Golf Club
Resort Merchandiser of the Year Kenny Thayer, PGA Beaver Creek Golf Club
Player Development Award Nathan Mead, PGA Vail Golf Club
Warren Smith Award Tom Buzbee, PGA Gypsum Creek Golf Course
Youth Player Development Award Nathan Corsbie, PGA Eagle Ranch Golf Club
Associate Player of the Year TBD
Senior Player of the Year TBD
Player of the Year TBD
Name Position Facility Email
Jeff Boyer, PGA President Eagle Ranch GC jboyer@eagleranchgolf.com
Brett Gagnon, PGA Vice-President Red Sky GC brett_gagnon@hotmail.com
Luke Brosterhous, PGA Secretary Catamount Ranch and Club lukeb@pga.com
Ed Marzec, PGA Honorary President PGA Member ed_marzec@pga.com
Tom Apple, PGA Director at Large Country Club of the Rockies tomapple@comcast.net
Jacques Deyoe, PGA Director at Large Aspen Glen Club jdeyoe@gmail.com
Alice Plain, PGA Director at Large Vail GC aplain@vailrec.com
Kenny Thayer, PGA Director at Large Beavercreek GC kthayer@vailresorts.com
Steve Van Dyke, PGA Director at Large River Valley Ranch GC steve@rvrgolf.com

West Chapter dues are $75 per Member annually. Dues can be paid in one of two ways:

  • when registering for your first event in the new year or
  • pay now by clicking here.

West Chapter Spring Business Meeting

  • Bookcliff Country Club
  • April 18, 2019
  • Click here

West Chapter Fall Membership Meeting

The West Chapter Board of Directors annually approves of a tournament schedule to provide playing opportunities to members of the West Chapter. These opportunities include the Chapter Championship, Pro-only events and Pro-Am events.

Click here to access the West Chapter Tournament Schedule.