Skip to Content

West Chapter

West Chapter

The West Chapter of the Colorado PGA encompasses those members and associates that work west of the Continental Divide in the state of Colorado. The West Chapter is made up of approximately 100 Members and Associates with over 50 facilities being located in the Chapter.

The West Chapter is governed by Officers elected by the Chapter Membership. The Core Purpose of the Chapter is to deliver the member programs and services of the Colorado PGA on the Western Slope. The West Chapter provides continuing education, pro-only and pro-am tournaments.

The West Chapter Annual Awards ten award winners and three Players of the Year. The nomination process for the Awards opens at the West Chapter Fall Membership Meeting and Championship and closes in mid-December. Nominees are given the opportunity to submit their packet before the West Chapter Board selected the winners of each category. The winners are recognized at the Colorado PGA Spring Business Meeting and receive their award at the West Chapter Spring Business Meeting.

2018 Award Winners

Award Name Facility
Golf Professional of the Year Ed Marzec, PGA Country Club of the Rockies
Teacher of the Year Pete Roach, PGA Sonnenalp Club
Assistant Golf Professional of the Year Dave Thompson, PGA Red Sky Golf Club
Bill Strausbaugh Award Jeff Boyer, PGA Eagle Ranch Golf Club
Horton Smith Award Alice Plain, PGA Vail Golf Club
Private Merchandiser of the Year Mark Lampe, PGA Snowmass Club
Public Merchandiser of the Year Alice Plain, PGA Vail Golf Club
Resort Merchandiser of the Year Chris Lai, PGA Red Sky Golf Club
Player Development Award Jim Pratt, PGA Aspen Golf Club
Youth Player Development Award Steve Van Dyke, PGA Aspen Glen Club
Associate Player of the Year Brandon Bingaman The Bridges Golf Club
Senior Player of the Year Doug Rohrbaugh, PGA Ironbridge Golf Club
Player of the Year Doug Rohrbaugh, PGA Ironbridge Golf Club
Name Position Facility Email
Jeff Boyer, PGA President Eagle Ranch GC jboyer@eagleranchgolf.com
Brett Gagnon, PGA Vice-President Red Sky GC brett_gagnon@hotmail.com
Luke Brosterhous, PGA Secretary Catamount Ranch and Club lukeb@pga.com
Ed Marzec, PGA Honorary President PGA Member ed_marzec@pga.com
Tom Apple, PGA Director at Large Country Club of the Rockies tomapple@comcast.net
Jacques Deyoe, PGA Director at Large Aspen Glen Club jdeyoe@gmail.com
Alice Plain, PGA Director at Large Vail GC aplain@vailrec.com
Kenny Thayer, PGA Director at Large Beavercreek GC kthayer@vailresorts.com
Steve Van Dyke, PGA Director at Large River Valley Ranch GC steve@rvrgolf.com

West Chapter Spring Business Meeting

  • Bookcliff Country Club
  • April 18, 2019
  • Click here

West Chapter Fall Membership Meeting

The West Chapter Board of Directors annually approves of a tournament schedule to provide playing opportunities to members of the West Chapter. These opportunities include the Chapter Championship, Pro-only events and Pro-Am events.

Click here to access the West Chapter Tournament Schedule.