The PGA of America Hall of Fame honors and recognizes individuals who through their lives, careers, service, and support have made significant and enduring contributions to the PGA of America in its effort to further its mission and promote the game of golf. The Colorado PGA is proud to announce for the first time in 15 years, one of our own Colorado PGA Professionals, Kyle Heyen, PGA Head Professional at Hiwan Golf Club, will be inducted into the PGA of America Hall of Fame!

Heyen started at Hiwan as an assistant professional back in 1980 and has been the head professional since 1985. He has served the Colorado Section on the Colorado PGA Board of Directors for 23 years, starting in 1998, and was elected as an officer in 2000. During this time, in addition to chairing Section Committees such as Education, Foundation, Historical, Junior Golf, and Military Affairs, he also created the Colorado Section PGA Golf Academy (1992-1993) and established Colorado PGA annual visits to Denver Veterans Hospitals (2009). In 2011, Heyen was elected into the Colorado Golf Hall of Fame!

Heyen has been awarded numerous Section Awards and several National Awards:

  • Golf Professional of the Year (2005, 2006)
  • Bill Strausbaugh Award (2010)
  • Professional Development Award (1993,1999, 2000, 2001)
  • Player Development Award (2007, 2008)
  • Vic Kline Award (2011)
  • PGA of America President’s Plaque (2009)
  • Play Golf America “Top 100 Facility” (2010-2012)

Nationally, Heyen served from 2008-2012 as a PGA of America Board of Control Member, which evaluates and issues decisions in the appeal process for 28,000 PGA Members nationwide and awards PGA disaster-relief funds. In this time, he reviewed over 1,000 cases!

Heyen has served on several National committees as well, including his role as the PGA of America Co- Chairman of the Governance Committee (2006-2008), Play Golf America Committee (2009), National Awards and Hall of Fame Selection Committee (2009-2010), 2.0 Platinum Committee Member (2011-2012), Player Development Co-Chair (2012-2014), PGA of America Membership Committee (2014-2016), PGA of America Awards Committee (2015-2016 and Committee Chair in 2017). Service for Heyen also includes his term as the District 9 Director from November 2014-2017. In 2017, he got involved with the PGA REACH Running Team and has been either the Chair or Co-Chair since that time raising funds for PGA REACH.

When asked about Heyen’s impact on the PGA, Past President of The PGA of America, Susy Whaley, PGA, said, “During my tenure on the PGA National Board of Directors and as an officer of the PGA of America, Kyle Heyen was one of the strongest advocates and voices for members of the PGA. His dedication to the promotion and advancement of PGA Professionals shined through during his service on the board but also as the Chair of the National Membership Committee and during his tenure on the Board of Control. His service and commitment to the PGA is inspired and deserves the highest level of recognition.”

Another Past President of The PGA of America, Derek Sprague, PGA, shared, “One of Kyle’s most revered qualities as a professional in my opinion is his humbleness … He has worked tirelessly his entire career in spearheading and growing the game of golf in his Section and at his Club. His humbleness, listening skills, and servant’s heart are all qualities of a great leader, and he epitomizes so many characteristics of what being a PGA Member means that his name should be enshrined in the PGA of America’s Hall of Fame forever.”

Colorado PGA CEO and Executive Director, Eddie Ainsworth, PGA, included, “Kyle leads by example. His commitment is never-ending in engaging our PGA Professionals to push themselves to be the best they can be. Kyle embraces national and local programs and encourages others to do so as well. His out of the box thinking has produced tremendous results for his facility and is a shining example for others to follow.”

The Colorado PGA is honored to have Kyle Heyen in our Section and proud to see him among other Colorado PGA Inductees into the PGA Hall of Fame. Previous Colorado PGA Members include Paul Runyan (1958), Ed Dudley (1964), Charles “Vic” Kline (2005), Warren Smith (2005) and Dow Finsterwald (2006).