VanDyke, Vendegna Golf Professional and Teacher of the Year for West Chapter

Pictured Back Row: Doug Rohrbaugh, Tom Buzbee, Nathan Corsbie, Eric Feely, Kenny Thayer and Ed Marzac. Front Row: Trey Johnson, Gregory Bryan, Stephen VanDyke, Nathan Mead and Eloy Vendegna. Not Pictured: John Lynch and Scott Sperry.

Spring in the Rockies brings with it melting snow, warming temperatures and budding flowers. Of equal prominence at this time of year is the announcement of the 2018 West Chapter Award recipients.

As in year past, this year is no exception in that there were a tremendous number of qualified candidates for West Chapter Awards, making the selection process a difficult one. This year’s slate of award recipients are a true example of individuals who are the epidemy of preserving and strengthening the Colorado Sections reputation as being “The Experts in the Game and Business of Golf.”

West Chapter President, Jeff Boyer, PGA, expresses his delight in this year’s slate of West Chapter Awards winners when he states, “It is an honor to go through the process of selecting our 2018 Colorado PGA West Chapter Award Winners. It is impressive to learn more about what our PGA Members are doing to grow the game and make their facilities successful. Each of the honorees, as well as the others who were nominated, has done a tremendous job emulating what it means to be a great golf professional. I look forward to being able to recognize all of these members when we come together for our Chapter Spring Meeting at Bookcliff Country Club in a few short weeks.”

Join us in congratulating the 2019 Colorado PGA West Chapter Award winners.

Golf Professional of the Year

  • Stephen VanDyke, PGA – Aspen Glen Club

Teacher of the Year

  • Eloy Vendegna, PGA – Chipeta Golf Course

Assistant Golf Professional of the Year

  • Trey Johnson, PGA – Vail Golf Club

Bill Strausbaugh Award

  • Eric Feely, PGA – The Bridges Country Club

Horton Smith Award

  • Ed Marzec, PGA — Member

Private Merchandiser of the Year

  • Greg Bryan, PGA – Roaring Fork Club

Public Merchandiser of the Year

  • Nathan Corsbie, PGA – Eagle Ranch Golf Club

Resort Merchandiser of the Year

  • Kenny Thayer, PGA – Beaver Creek Golf Club

Player Development Award

  • Nathan Mead, PGA – Vail Golf Club

Warren Smith Award

  • Tom Buzbee, PGA – Gypsum Creek Golf Course

Youth Player Development Award

  • Nathan Corsbie, PGA – Eagle Ranch Golf Club

To honor this achievement, West Chapter award recipients were announced during the Section Spring Membership Meeting on Monday, March 25, at Pinehurst Country Club. They will be further recognized during the West Chapter Spring Membership Meeting on April 18, 2019, at Bookclilff Country Club in Grand Junction, Colo. Also, the names of these award winners will be submitted as finalists to be considered a recipient of the Colorado Section Special Award.