(Larkspur, CO) – The Colorado PGA is proud to announce our 2019 Colorado PGA Special Award winners. The list is highlighted by Russ Miller, PGA, the Director of Golf at The Broadmoor, who was named Golf Professional of the Year. The Special Awards Committee, comprised of the 2018 award winners, selected eleven winners following a months long process.

Six awards remain to be decided. Four Players of the Year (Dow Finsterwald, Senior, Women’s and Associate) will be awarded following the Colorado PGA West Chapter Championship. The Board of Directors will select the winners of the Charles “Vic” Kline Award, Todd Phipers Media Award and the President’s Award.

The 2019 Award Winners will be celebrated on Friday, November 1, 2019, at Colorado Golf Club. Detailed information and online registration will be available September 1, 2019, for this special event.


Golf Professional of the Year

Russ Miller, PGA – The Broadmoor – Read More in The SUMMIT, August Issue

Assistant Professional of the Year

Derek Rush, PGA – Cherry Hills Country Club

Teacher of the Year

Steve Atherton, PGA – Eagle Springs Golf Club

Bill Strausbaugh Award

Rick Cole, PGA – Eaton Country Club

Horton Smith Award

Josh Miller, PGA – GOLFTEC

Warren Smith Award

Tom Buzbee, PGA – City of Boulder (Flatirons Golf Course)

Player Development Award

Kirk Mease, PGA – Wellshire Golf Course

Youth Player Development Award

Trent Wearner, PGA – Trent Wearner Golf Academy

Private Merchandiser of the Year

Andrew Hedrick, PGA – The Country Club at Castle Pines

Public Merchandiser of the Year

Keith Stilwell, PGA – Cheyenne Shadows Golf Course at Fort Carson

Resort Merchandiser of the Year

Kenny Thayer, PGA – Beavercreek Golf Club